2010 National Design Awards & Gala

The Smithsonian’s Cooper-Hewitt, National Design Museum celebrated the 2010 National Design Awards with a ceremony and dinner Thursday night at Cipriani 42nd Street in New York. Launched at the White House in 2000 as an official project of the White House Millennium Council, the annual National Design Awards celebrate design in various disciplines as a vital humanistic tool in shaping the world. First Lady Michelle Obama serves as the honorary patron of the 2010 National Design Awards.

The 2010 National Design Award nominations were solicited from a committee of more than 2,500 designers, educators, journalists, cultural figures and corporate leaders from every state in the nation. Nominees must have at least seven years of experience in order to be nominated, and winners are selected based on the level of excellence, innovation and public impact of their body of work. This year’s jury of design leaders and educators from across the country convened by Cooper-Hewitt reviewed the nominations and chose Lifetime Achievement and Design Mind recipients, and selected winners and finalists in the Corporate and Institutional Achievement, Architecture Design, Communication Design, Fashion Design, Interaction Design, Interior Design, Landscape Design and Product Design categories.

• Lifetime Achievement: Jane Thompson
• Design Mind: Ralph Caplan
• Corporate and Institutional Achievement: U.S. Green Building Council. Finalists: Design that Matters and OXO
• Architecture Design: KieranTimberlake. Finalists: Lake|Flato Architects and Design Corps
• Communication Design: Stephen Doyle. Finalists: John Jay and Maira Kalman
• Fashion Design: Rodarte. Finalists: Behnaz Sarafpour and Proenza Schouler
• Interaction Design: Lisa Strausfeld. Finalists: Potion and Local Projects
• Interior Design: William Sofield. Finalists: Clive Wilkinson Architects and Aidlin Darling Design
• Landscape Design: James Corner Field Operations. Finalists: Andrea Cochran Landscape
Architecture and Stoss Landscape Urbanism
• Product Design: Smart Design. Finalists: Continuum and Frog Design

• Designer Milton Glaser presented the Design Mind Award to Ralph Caplan
• David Kohler presented the Corporate and Institutional Achievement Award to U.S. Green Building Council
• Dean Marilyn Jordan Taylor of University of Pennsylvania School of Design presented the Architecture Design Award to KieranTimberlake
• OXO founder Sam Farber presented the Product Design Award to Smart Design
• Editor Cecilia Dean presented the Fashion Design Award to Rodarte
• Designer Nicholas Negroponte presented the Interaction Design Award to Lisa Strausfeld
• Editor Wendy Goodman presented the Interior Design Award to William Sofield
• Dean Stan Allen of Princeton’s School of Architecture to present the Landscape Design Award to James Corner
• Architect Michael Van Valkenburg presented the Lifetime Achievement Award to Jane Thompson
• White House Deputy Social Secretary Ebs Burnough and fashion designer Cynthia Rowley presented the People’s Design Award

Richard Meier is the Chair of the Gala. Vice Chairs are Deborah and Christopher Buck, Amita Chatterjee, Becky and David Gochman, Alice Gottesman, Ralph Rucci, Nadja Swarovski and Judy Francis Zankel.

Other attendees included Elizabeth Ainslie, Adrian Benepe, Brad Cloepfil, Clodagh, Beth Comstock, Niels Diffrient, Anne and Joel Ehrenkranz, Alex and Paul Herzan, Sonia Kashuk, Jenna Lyons,Brice Marden, Nancy Marks, Ingo Maurer, Dinny and Lester Morse, Gigi Mortimer, Murray Moss, Lela Rose, Scott Stringer and Gael Towey.



Ernest Schmatolla is publisher of Lookonline since 1994. It is the longest running fashion site on the Internet.

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.