CFDA 2012 Fashion Award Winners

Ashley & Mary-Kate Olsen
(Photo: Randy Brooke)

The 2012 CFDA Fashion Awards, which marked the organization’s 50th anniversary, took place at Lincoln Center’s Alice Tully Hall Monday evening. The Row’s Ashley and Mary-Kate Olsen won the 2012 Council of Fashion Designers of America’s Womenswear Designer of the Year award.  The Olsen twins were for the first time included in the list of nominees and beat out Marc Jacobs, Lazaro Hernandez, Jack McCollough and the Proenza Schouler designers.

Joseph Altuzarra & Kate Bosworth
(Photo: Randy Brooke) 

The Menswear Designer of the Year award went to Billy Reid, while Reed Krakoff picked up the trophy in the Accessory category. The night also honored emerging talents with the Swarovski Award. This year, Joseph Altuzarra won in the Womenswear category; Phillip Lim in Menswear, and Tabitha Simmons in Accessory Design.

Tommy Hilfiger & wife Dee
(Photo: Randy  Brooke)

Anna Wintour presented Tommy Hilfiger with the Geoffrey Beene lifetime achievement award (with a performance by the Princeton Footlight singers, dressed in matching Hilfiger varsity outfits); Andrew Rosen took home the Founders Award, in honor of Eleanor Lambert, and the Media Award, in honor of Eugenia Sheppard, went to Scott Schuman and Garance Doré. Rei Kawakubo was honored with the International Award, and Johnny Depp with the Fashion Icon Award. 

Click here for arrival photos



Ernest Schmatolla is publisher of Lookonline since 1994. It is the longest running fashion site on the Internet.

  1. Fashion accessories are growing popular as consumers seek to look good. The fashion industry requires little effort in promoting accessories with their designs as consumers are already familiar with the benefits and great effects of appropriate accessories with their attire.

  2. Johnny Depp really deserves the Fashion Icon Award. I really like the way he dress himself very fashionable especially the scarf around his neck!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.