Couture Council Fall Cocktail Party

Dr. Valerie Steele & Michelle Harper
(Photos:  Chance Yeh for Patrick McMullan Co.)

Great turnout (300+)  Thursday night at the Couture Council fall cocktail party for new members at the Soho Grand Hotel. I mean it was standing room only for most of the night. A really good looking crowd of people as you might imagine. The event was hosted by Michelle Harper (Board Member), Yaz Hernandez (President of the Board), Liz Peek (Chairman of the Board), Dr. Valerie Steele (Director of The Museum at FIT), and the Couture Council Board of Directors. PR for the event was again ably handled by Jonathan Marder + Company.

The Couture Council is a membership group dedicated to supporting The Museum at FIT, a specialized museum of fashion. The Couture Council helps make it possible for The Museum at FIT to mount world-class exhibitions of fashion, to acquire important objects for its permanent collection, and to organize public programs, such as the annual fashion symposium. The Couture Council accomplishes these goals through collecting membership dues and by organizing fundraising events such as the annual Couture Council Awards Luncheon, which presents a noted designer with the Couture Council Award for Artistry of Fashion.

Couture Council Annual Membership is $1,000 per individual or couple; $500 for members over 35 years of age who are actively working in the fashion industry (these are by invitation only); and $350 for Young Associates (under the age of 35). Membership is tax deductible to the extent provided by law. Checks payable to the Educational Foundation for the Fashion Industries. Mail checks to The Museum at FIT, attention: Couture Council, 227 West 27th Street, Director’s Office, Room E304, New York, NY 10001-5992.

Members of the Couture Council receive invitations to at least five special events a year, including behind-the-scenes tours of the museum’s collection and exhibitions, opening receptions, and visits to the ateliers of fashion designers in New York. Couture Council members are also the first to receive notice of the annual Couture Council Artistry of Fashion Award luncheon. In addition, Couture Council members receive complimentary admittance

Here are some who were at the party:

Alexandra Lebenthal
Carlos Campos, Peter Davis & Ronaldo Santana
Chiu-Ti Jensen & Victor de Souza
Liz Peek & Tom Gold
Whitney Wolfe & Sarah Wolfe
Bree Lowery & Michael Nelson

– Ernest Schmatolla



Ernest Schmatolla is publisher of Lookonline since 1994. It is the longest running fashion site on the Internet.

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.