Friday the 13th

This past Friday may have actually read Friday, the 22nd on the calendar, but for one organization, it was indeed Friday the 13th (and in this case, I mean, lucky 13th). Fashion Group International held its 13th annual Rising Star Luncheon this past Friday, and it was one of the chicest, most festive, celebratory, and highly efficient in memory.

Each year it seems this annual event (a reception, luncheon, and awards ceremony which honors eight “outstanding individuals for their innovation, creativity, and accomplishments”), has become more and more prestigious, more high profile, and highly anticipated, and indeed, it’s become so popular, it was sold out this time around.

In addition, there were a few things that were new, and as it turns out, they were also ‘improved’ (from my point of view anyway). It has traditionally been held on a Thursday, but was moved to Friday, and this year, the venue of choice was the beautiful and very grand Cipriani 42nd Street. Let’s face it: it’s hard to find a space with more elegant ambience or such a central, convenient location. And of course, the food is always wonderful, with a menu that boasted sea bass, asparagus, and lemon meringue pie with mixed berries (ah, spring is in the air!)

FGI President Margaret Hayes made her welcoming remarks noting that the importance of this program is to “support Fashion Group’s mission to promote rising star talent”. She added, “I want to acknowledge the talent, skill, commitment, and fortitude that brought you (the nominees) to this amazing journey”.

The keynote speaker was Nina Garcia, fashion editor extraordinaire, and fashion director of Marie Claire, who is perhaps best known as one of the judges on ‘Project Runway’. Though she was fighting a cold, and seemed to be on the verge of losing her voice, she got through her rousing speech brilliantly, as she addressed the nominees, giving them a laundry list of pointers, tips, and good sound advice to keep in mind on their road to success.

Here is some of what she said:“

“I am pleased to be celebrating the incredible talent in the room today”.
“The future of fashion is in this room”.
“Today’s fashion icons were once rule breakers”.
“You have to know at the outset who you are and what you are.”
“Be yourself. Be your boldest, out- of- the- box self”.
“The ones most self assured, most focused, are the ones who make it. This is not a time to play it safe. Play it smart”.
“Challenge us, inspire us, surprise us. Get in our faces.”
“Never underestimate the power of fashion. It is a reflection of our culture and our times. Be daring. Be bold. Make fashion history.”

This is a list of the award presenters, nominees, and the winners in each of the 8 categories:

Katherine Fleming – Katherine Fleming LLC
Robin Frances Stern – It’s About Time
Shai Levy – Seventy Eight Percent
Adriana Castro – Adriana Castro
Cornelia Petronis – Mark
Amanda Brotman – Amanda Pearl, LLC

Winner: Amanda Pearl Brotman, Amanda Pearl, LLC.

Beauty/Fragrance Corporate
Award Presenter: JANE LARKWORTHY
Jaclyn Rebecca Davis – MAC Cosmetics
Jerome Roux – Coty Prestige
Irina Burlakova – Givaudan Fragrances Corp.
Juliette Karagueuzoglou – IFF (International Flavors & Fragrances)

Winner: Juliette Karagueuzoglou, IFF

Beauty/Fragrance Entrepreneur:
Award Presenter: FREDERIC FEKKAI
Lisa Hoffman – Lisa Hoffman Beauty
Danny Seo – Wholearth Beauty and Bath
Janet League- Katzin – Sphatika International, LLC
Matthew Malin & Andrew Goetz – MALIN + GOETZ
Frederick Bouchardy – Joya LLC

Winner: Janet League-Katzin-Sphatika International, LLC.

Home/Interior Design:
Award Presenter: CLODAGH
Dror Benshetrit – Dror
Luke Vahle – Fifth Season Design
Joey Roth – Joey Roth
Shawn Henderson – Shawn Henderson

Winner: Dror Benshetrit-Dror

Fine Jewelry:
Monica Rich Kosann – Monica Rich Kosann
Nina Basharova – Nina Basharova Jewelry Design
Visnja Brdar – Visnja Jewels
Kelly Amorim – Carla Amorim Jewelry

Winner: Monica Rich Kosann-Monica Rich Kosann

Men’s Apparel:
Award Presenter: ROBERT BRYAN
Anthony Keegan & Richard Christiansen – Commonwealth Utilities
Paul Marlow – Loden Dager
Loris Diran – Loris Diran
Stefan Dahlkvist, Simen Staalnacke & Peder Borresen –
Moods of Norway International

Winner: Anthony Keegan & Richard Christiansen-Commonwealth Utilities

Award Presenter: BETH BUCCINI
John Bartlett – John Bartlett
Edward Chai & Paul Birardi – ODIN New York
Helena Greene – Swing Concept Shop
Barbara Moore – B. Moore Design, Inc.
Alexandra Galgano – Charm and Chain

Winner: Edward Chai & Paul Birardi- Odin, New York

Women’s RTW:
Joseph Altuzarra – Altuzarra
Bibhu Mohapatra – Bibhu Mohapatra
Carly Cushnie & Michelle Ochs – Cushnie et Ochs
Matthew Ames – Matthew Ames
Michael Angel – Michael Angel
Nima Taherzadeh – NIMA
Peter Hidalgo – Peter Hidalgo
Prabal Gurung – Prabal Gurung
Brigitte Schwenner – Sievering LLC

Winners (It was a tie): Joseph Altuzarra-Altuzarra; Peter Hidalgo- Peter Hidalgo

-Marilyn Kirschner

Marilyn Kirschner

I am a long time fashion editor with 40+ years of experience. As senior market of Harper's Bazaar for 21 years I met and worked with every major fashion designer in the world and covered all of the collections in Paris, London, Milan and New York. I was responsible for overall content, finding and pulling in the best clothes out there, and for formulating ideas and stories.

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.