19th CDGA Costume Designers Guild Awards Gala

Host Mandy Moore speaks onstage at The 19th CDGA (Costume Designers Guild Awards) with Presenting Sponsor LACOSTE
Photo by Kevin Winter

The Costume Designers Guild, IATSE local 892, is a member of the international alliance of theatrical stage employees. In addition to their union services, they promote the artistry, technical expertise, and creative vision of their members who design authentic fictional characters with accuracy and integrity. The Guild’s membership includes Costume Designers and Illustrators working in motion pictures, television, commercials, music videos, and new media programs throughout the world. Find the Guild at Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram @CDGlocal892.

Last night, Mandy Moore hosted the 19th CDGA (Costume Designers Guild Awards) at The Beverly Hilton in Los Angeles, CA. Produced by JumpLine and presented by LACOSTE, the annual CDGA gala celebrated excellence in film, television, and short form Costume Design as voted on by the Guild’s membership, which includes more than 900 Costume Designers and Illustrators working in motion pictures, television, commercials, music videos, and new media programs throughout the world.

Actors Jane Fonda (L) and Lily Tomlin speak onstage
Photo by Kevin Winter

Attendees included this year’s special honorees Lily Collins (Actress, LACOSTE Spotlight Award), Lois DeArmond (Illustrator, Distinguished Service Award), Jeffrey Kurland (Costume Designer, Career Achievement Award), and  Meryl Streep (Actress, Distinguished Collaborator Award) who joined the stage with this year’s CDGA winners. In addition, Costume Designer Ret Turner, was posthumously inducted into the Guild’s Hall of Fame by renowned Costume Designer Bob Mackie.

Honoree Meryl Streep accepts the Distinguished Collaborator Award onstage
Photo by Christopher Polk

Guests included presenters Troian Bellisario (Actress, Pretty Little Liars), Matt Bomer (Actor, The Magnificent Seven), James Corden (Actor and TV Host, The Late Late Show with James Corden), Darren Criss (Actor and Musician, Supergirl / The Flash), Jane Fonda (Actress, Grace and Frankie), Kathryn Hahn (Actress, I Love Dick), Salvador Perez (CDG President), Glen Powell (Actor, Hidden Figures), Ann Roth (Costume Designer), Maggie Siff (Actress, Billions), Jimmi Simpson (Actor, Westworld), Lily Tomlin (Actress, Grace and Frankie), and Dianne Wiest (Actress, Life In Pieces) along with VIP attendees including Amy Landecker (Actress, Transparent), Phyllis Logan (Actress, Downton Abbey), Trace Lysette (Actress, Transparent), Paola Núñez (Actress, The Son), Rhea Perlman (Actress, The Mindy Project), June Diane Raphael (Actress, Grace and Frankie), Octavia Spencer (Actress, Hidden Figures), Cary-Hiroyuki Tagawa (Actor, The Man in the High Castle), Jess Weixler (Actress, The Son), and more.

Matt Bomer and Lily Collins onstage
Photo by Christopher Polk

Some highlights of the evening: Host Mandy Moore opened the evening by welcoming the audience to the “Meryl Streep Ballroom,” a nod to Streep’s Golden Globe Awards speech that took place on the very same stage last month.· In a surprise appearance, Christopher Nolan joined Dianne Wiest to present Jeffrey Kurland with the Career Achievement Award. Danny DeVito and Woody Allen also joined in congratulating the legendary costume designer via video messages they sent in spirit.·

Bob Mackie
Photo: Getty Images

James Corden got the crowd in near tears of laughter when he presented Meryl Streep, his “Into the Woods” co-star, with the Distinguished Collaborator Award. Corden shared his first encounter with Meryl Streep when she mistook him for a waiter.· During her acceptance speech, Meryl Streep shared it was because of her mom that she majored in costume design. See b-roll for additional highlights from her speech.· Long time make-up artist for Meryl Streep, J. Roy Helland accompanied the actress at the event.· “Grace & Frankie” stars Jane Fonda and Lily Tomlin kept the crowd laughing when they went off script while presenting the Excellence in Period Film category.

The following is the list of winners in the 7 categories voted on by the Guild’s membership:

Excellence in Contemporary Film
– La La Land – Mary Zophres

Excellence in Period Film
Hidden Figures 

– Renee Ehrlich Kalfus

Excellence in Fantasy Film
Doctor Strange

– Alexandra Byrne

Outstanding Contemporary Television Series
American Horror Story: Roanoke

– Lou Eyrich, Helen Huang

Outstanding Period Television Series
The Crown

– Michele Clapton

Outstanding Fantasy Television Series
Game of Thrones

– Michele Clapton, April Ferry

Excellence in Short Form Design
Pepsi: “Momotaro” Episode Four, featuring Jude Law

— Ami Goodheart

(We thank Brian Rubin of PMK•BNC for the information contained in this article).

– Ernest Schmatolla



Ernest Schmatolla is publisher of Lookonline since 1994. It is the longest running fashion site on the Internet.

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.