Fashion Group International’s Rising Star Awards

Fashion Group International’s 16th Annual Rising Star Awards were held Thursday afternoon and, as usual, this sold out event (reception, luncheon and awards ceremony) was held at Cipriani 42nd Street, where the famed Bellinis (and good food) certainly helped take a chill off the frigid temperatures outside. FGI President Margaret Hayes made her welcoming remarks before a room that included some of the brightest and newest stars in the worlds of fashion, beauty, fragrance, accessories, home/interior design, jewelry, retailing, and the media. She congratulated the group of talented nominees, who were whittled down from approximately 125 at the outset.

(FYI, I must admit that when I saw that Lisa Hoffman was one of the nominees, I was wondering whether her hubby, actor Dustin Hoffman, would be in attendance, as I have long been a huge fan. Unfortunately, he was not. And, unfortunately for Lisa, she did not win a Rising Star Award in her category, although she does get to go home to a true STAR!)

The award on display

Ms. Hayes described the Awards, generously provided by Movado, as a “microcosm of the consuming public” and “an excellent barometer of future success” (past recipients include such as Tory Burch, Joseph Altuzarra, Phillip Lim, and Thom Browne). She admitted that this year was especially competitive and said, “each of you has a gift and the will to win”. She then advised the assembled guests to “eat quickly” (the event was called from 11:15 am- 2 pm) so that the awards could be given out in a timely manner (fyi, they ended at precisely 2pm).

Ralph Rucci

FGI’s Marylou Luther introduced Ralph Rucci, the Keynote Speaker, hailing him as “the one, the only, the TRULY original Ralph Rucci”. Among the advise and sage words of wisdom he imparted:

“Know in your heart that if you are sitting here, it’s an award already.”
“In your chosen quest to bring beautification to this planet (in whatever field you specialize in), know that it’s a rigor that’s non stop and it can be obsessive. You have to learn to walk on a razon’s edge of flexibility.”
“When problems occur, you must think of them as a challenge to find the solution.”
“You have to find your particular individual vision of your own style. Remain passionate. You can’t look left or right. You must look forward. You always have to seek and to find.”
“This is my 31st year of making collections. I use each collection as a way to find out something new about myself.”
“Kindness is the most important thing to show each other.”

Rising Star Award Presenters: Michael Boodro, Marion Fasel, Derek Lam, Chris Mitchell, Terron Schaefer, Laura Slatkin, Linda Wells, and Mickey Boardman. As the latter (better known as Mr. Mickey) is known for his over-the-top fashion persona, and especially his love of accessories, it seemed especially fitting that he give out the award in the accessories category. True to form, when he came onstage, he was lit up like a Christmas Tree in his multi colored sequined shirt. He proceded to say that he was thinking about taking his Stella McCartney bag onstage with him but decided not to. He also asked the guests to hold their applause until after all the nominees were named (“unless you’re applauding for me” he joked).

In addition, this year marked the launch of the Karen Harvey Business Innovator Award. When Miss Harvey took the stage, she said, “we are in an era of robust innovation” and “sometimes, something completely blows our minds.” “Execution is what makes true innovation great and helps us rethink things. That is why we selected The Runthrough (, an online hub which brings “luxury, emerging designers, and the media together in a unique way.”

Marilyn Kirschner

Group shot of all the winners
(click on image for larger view)

2013 Rising Star Awards Finalists and Winners:

Adriana Castro- Adriana Castro
Anndra Neen- Phoebe & Annette Stephens
Cornelia Guest- Cornelia Guest
Dixie Dunbar Studio- Soteria Kontis
Freda Salvador- Megan Papay & Cristina Palomo-Nelson
Manu- Emanuela Frattini Magnusson
Max Kibardin- Max Kibardin
Swims- Johan Kingdal
Winner: Cornelia Guest

Beauty/Fragrance Corporate
Estee Lauder Companies- Alana Hawawini
International Flavors & Fragrances- Ruhi Patil
Mane USA- Yadira Perez
Nars Cosmetics- Samantha Giordano
Winner: Alana Hawawini

Home/Interior Design
Lindsey Adelman Studio- Lindsey Adelman
Materia Arquitectonica- Gustavo Carmona Munoz
Rachel Laxer Interiors- Rachel Laxer
Winner: Gustavo Carmona Munoz

Beauty/Fragrance Entrepreneur
Arquiest Parfumeur- Carlos Huber
Belle Fleur New York- Tony Perez & Meredith Waga
Kahina Giving Beauty- Katharine L’Heureux
Lisa Hoffman Beauty- Lisa Hoffman
Six Scents Parfums- Joseph Quartana
Vbeaute- Julie Macklowe
Winner: Carlos Huber

Fine Jewelry
Alexandra Mor New York- Alexandra Mor
Jemma Wynne- Jenny Klatt & Stephanie Wynne Lalin
Torrubia & Torrubia- Yolanda & Amaia Torrubia
Winner- Alexandra Mor

Birchbox- Hayley Barna & Katia Beauchamp
Fivestory- Claire Distenfeld
Moda Operandi- Aslaug Magnusdottir & Lauren Santo Domingo
Shen Beauty- Jessica Richards & Julia Stringer
Winner- Hayley Barna & Katia Beauchamp

Andrew Charles- Andy Hilfiger
Ovadia & Sons- Ariel & Shimon Ovadia
Tim Coppens- Tim Coppens
Todd Snyder- Todd Snyder
Winner: Tim Coppens

Women’s Ready-to-Wear
Brandon Sun- Brandon Sun
Gavaskar- Vengsarkar Budhu
Honor- Giovanna Randall
Loris Diran- Loris Diran
Nellie Partow- Nellie Partow
Norisol Ferrari- Norisol Ferrari
Norman Ambrose- Norman Ambrose
Rolando Santana- Rolando Santana
Tia Cibani- Tia Cibani
Winners: (It was a tie)
Norman Ambrose
Tia Cibani

For more information about the event:

Diane Clehane
MOBILE: 845.430.3572
NEW OFFICE: 203.681.2118



Ernest Schmatolla is publisher of Lookonline since 1994. It is the longest running fashion site on the Internet.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.